UPDATED 03-31-10: FRIDAY FUNNIES: COSTELLO BUYS A COMPUTER FROM ABBOTT…

Posted on March 13, 2009. Filed under: Humor..., QueenBeeWorld's Friday Funnies..., UPDATED POSTS... | Tags: , |

UPDATED:  Wednesday, March 31, 2010 10:36 PM (My original post follows my update)

 

This update is for Tom King, in answer to his comment under “Comments” section below:

 

Tom, I wish to extend my prayers and heartfelt condolences to you and your family on the loss of your son.

 

Laughter is the best medicine, and if you did, in fact, originate this piece, I’d like to personally thank you.  You say you wrote the “original version” in 2004.  Was it different that what it is today?  Anyway, it makes me laugh every time I read it, and I’ve also gotten some emails telling me the same thing.  Now we all know where it came from, which is great, and I do want everyone to know!

Whenever I write in my blog, I take care to post my own personal thoughts in green text, and those of others in other fonts and colors so as not to confuse my readers.  Just as I don’t want people to take credit for what I write, I certainly don’t want to take credit for the words of others, and I haven’t.  To be clear, I posted this skit on my blog on March 13, 2009, and you posted yours on May 3, 2009—two months later—so you know I didn’t get it from your site—I actually received it in an email some time ago.  With that said…

 

I’ll add your tagline to this post, with your permission…

 

To anyone who wants to visit Tom’s site:  Just One Man’s Opinion

Here’s his post on the subject…

http://twayneking.blogspot.com/2009/05/costello-calls-to-buy-computer-from.html

 

Thank you so much, Tom, for taking the time to write, and most of all, thanks for your personal gift of laughter…

 

My best to you and your family,

 

QueenBee

 

P.S.  I enjoyed reading your blog, and I hope you’ve enjoyed reading mine.  Stop by again…

 

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

If Bud Abbott and Lou Costello were alive today…
 
The conversation of Costello buying a computer from Abbott a la their famous “Who’s On First” skit might have gone something like this…
 
QueenBee

ABBOTT: Super Duper computer store.  Can I help you?

COSTELLO : Thanks.  I’m setting up an office in my den and I’m thinking about buying a computer.

ABBOTT : Mac?

COSTELLO : No, the name’s Lou.

ABBOTT : Your computer?

COSTELLO : I don’t own a computer.  I want to buy one.

ABBOTT : Mac?

COSTELLO: I told you, my name’s Lou.

ABBOTT : What about Windows?

COSTELLO : Why?  Will it get stuffy in here?

ABBOTT : Do you want a computer with Windows?

COSTELLO : I don’t know.  What will I see when I look at the
windows?

ABBOTT : Wallpaper.

COSTELLO : Never mind the windows.  I need a computer and software.

ABBOTT : Software for Windows?

COSTELLO : No.  On the computer!  I need something I can use to write proposals, track expenses and run my business. What do you have?

ABBOTT : Office.

COSTELLO: Yeah, for my office.  Can you recommend anything?

ABBOTT : I just did.

COSTELLO : You just did what?

ABBOTT : Recommend something.

COSTELLO : You recommended something?

ABBOTT : Yes.

COSTELLO : For my office?

ABBOTT : Yes.

COSTELLO : OK, what did you recommend for my office?

ABBOTT : Office.

COSTELLO : Yes, for my office!

ABBOTT : I recommend Office with Windows.

COSTELLO : I already have an office with windows!  OK, let’s just say I’m sitting at my computer and I want to type a proposal.  What do I need?

ABBOTT : Word.

COSTELLO : What word?

ABBOTT : Word in Office.

COSTELLO : The only word in office is office.

ABBOTT : The Word in Office for Windows.

COSTELLO : Which word in office for windows?

ABBOTT : The Word you get when you click the blue ‘W’.

COSTELLO : I’m going to click your blue ‘w’ if you don’t start with some straight answers.  What about financial bookkeeping?  You have anything I can track my money with?

ABBOTT: Money.

COSTELLO : That’s right.  What do you have?

ABBOTT : Money.

COSTELLO : I need money to track my money?

ABBOTT : It comes bundled with your computer.

COSTELLO : What’s bundled with my computer?

ABBOTT : Money.

COSTELLO : Money comes with my computer?

ABBOTT : Yes.  No extra charge.

COSTELLO : I get a bundle of money with my computer?  How much?

ABBOTT : One copy.

COSTELLO : Isn’t it illegal to copy money?

ABBOTT : Microsoft gave us a license to copy Money.

COSTELLO : They can give you a license to copy money?

ABBOTT : Why not?  THEY OWN IT!

(A few days later)

ABBOTT : Super Duper computer store.  Can I help you?

COSTELLO : How do I turn my computer off?

ABBOTT : Click on ‘START’…………. 

      

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

8 Responses to “UPDATED 03-31-10: FRIDAY FUNNIES: COSTELLO BUYS A COMPUTER FROM ABBOTT…”

RSS Feed for QueenBeeWorld… Comments RSS Feed

Dear Queen Bee. Thanks for adding my byline. My original post in 2004 was deleted when MySpace flushed everything including my first blog entry. I republished it on my own blog in 2009 as a revised version. Thanks again for your kind words. Nice blog too. I checked out some of your entries while I was here. Thanks again – Tom King

Like

You’re welcome, Tom. I try to stay true to the facts on my Blog. As I stated in this particular post, Tom, I’d like to thank you for your personal gift of laughter—something this country needs, especially nowadays…

Like

Tom, please read my update dated 03-31-10 above..QB

Like

I wrote the original version of this in 2004. In 2005 it went viral, but after the death of my son in 2006, I lost track of things and didn\’t realize it was floating around the Internet unattributed till recently. There are even a couple of funny film versions on YouTube. If you don\’t mind could you add this tagline to the post:<i>(c) Tom King: Used by permission http://twayneking.blogspot.com</i>I would very much appreciate that so I can at least add it to my writer\’s credits. I am flattered that you found it funny enough to post. Thanks so much.Tom King – Flint, TX

Like

You\’re so right, Khrys, and I\’m not just saying that either. I have the same sentiment every time Hollywood remakes a movie. It\’s like they\’re running out of ideas so they have to rely on remaking classics…that fall short, by the way. I prefer AMC to today\’s idiotic movies that insult our intelligence.

Like

Thats 1 thing I\’d love to see back on screen is the silents like Charlie Chaplin or Harry Lloyd! Many classics have been remade over years like King Kong but the Hollywood would never be able to revamp these timeless classics 😀 True meaning of "action speaks louder than words"..

Like

Khrys, a good laugh is good for the soul. Every once in awhile, I feel compelled to add some good old fashioned humor to my site since the clowns that are now running this country is no laughing matter…

Like

That\’s got to be the funniest entry I ever read!! Was a huge fan of Abbott & Costello and could picture the sketch as I read it! Sidesplitting

Like


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

